If it is to be, it’s up to we…

Sean¬†Grainger¬†(@graingered) tells me “the¬†world we all share is one big story written by history.” ¬†I agree with him, our¬†collective story is¬†summed up by each one of our individual stories. ¬†He says, “Teachers are in the story-writing business” and that our¬†fundamental purpose is to be what we want education to be.

I’ve had the pleasure to¬†occasionally¬†exchange tweets with Sean, and in many ways he’s influenced me to think of myself as a teacher. Maybe not the certified-type who commands a classroom, but the sort who plays a necessary role in the future of education. ¬†My contacts have dealt me enough insight to understand what kind of lessons the next generation will need in order to lead society through the transition ahead. ¬†I’d like to play my part.

Kare Givers

As Sean suggests, the biggest lessons are “never acquired in isolation.” ¬†I’m part of a broader evolution that involves the interweaving of value once locked up in ¬†unsustainable silos. ¬†Our stories are fusing together via online and offline connections. ¬†Communities of practice are dissolving old silos as their stories combine ¬†into fractal narratives that help our world thrive. Like Sean, I’m telling you, “we are connected” ¬†and I’ll let him remind you,¬†“We have never been alone in truth, only in perception.”

My core takeaway is to embody the stories that bring evidence-based hope to my community — “if it is to be, it’s up to we.” ¬†That’s right, I’ve only a smart part. ¬† ¬†The reality of revolutionary change, according to Howard Zinn, involves “small acts multiplied by millions of people.” ¬†Or as my friend Steven Putter likes to say, “As individuals we are but little streams, it’s when we flow together that we can make the earth shake in harmony
with the transition to an abundant future for our children.”

Together, teachers, students, and all the rest of us concerned with the health of the universe, can embody smarter stories. ¬†That’s the game I’d like to play.

If it is to be, it’s up to we…

Leave a Reply

